“Awesome,” Georgetown junior forward Jaelyn Knight said earlier in the week after learning that she had been named to the 40-player Class 5A All-State Basketball Team selected by the Texas Girls Coaches Association.
  “We are very proud of the job Jaelyn did on the court for us as well as the leadership she supplied everyday during some unusually difficult times during the season,” GHS head coach Rhonda Farney said.
    The 5-foot-11 forward helped lead the Lady Eagles to a 25-10 record, including a 13-3 mark in 19-5A that earned a tie for second place with Rouse.  The all-district  first-team selection averaged 9.4 points a game, grabbed 165 rebounds, was second on the team in blocked shots and third in steals.
   Knight, one of the Lady Eagles’ three captains this past season, was the only player from District 19-5A named to the TGCA honor squad.
    She becomes the 24th Lady Eagle to earn all-state honors during Farney’s tenure at GHS.
    Knight had previously been named this season to the Texas Association of Basketball Coaches All-Region III-5A team.
The complete TGCA 5A All-State Team.
  Ashyn Milton, jr., Amarillo; Zayla Tinner, soph., Amarillo; Jordan Pinson, sr., El Paso Andress; Mia Heide, sr, Austin SFA; Charli Collier, sr., Mont Belvieu Barbers Hill; Iyana Dorsey, soph., Birdville; Channing Cunyus, sr., Canyon; Blaire Winings, sr., Canyon; Bryn Gerlich, sr., Colleyville Heritage; Jordyn Carter, jr., Austin Crockett.
  Briauna Johnson, jr., Crosby; Paris Netherly, sr., Crosby; Tayelin Grays, sr., Dayton; Zya Nugent, jr., Denison; Tyquanna Ross, jr., Ennis; Hayle Campbell, jr., Corpus Christi Flour Bluff; Meredith Marcum, jr. Corpus Christi Flour Bluff; Jaelyn Knight, jr., Georgetown; Allie Byrd, jr., Humble Kingwood Park; Mallory Adams, sr., Frisco Lone Star.
  Adryana Quezada, jr., Frisco Lone Star; Kaylee Rekieta, sr., Lucas Lovejoy; Jacey Hise, sr., Lubbock Cooper; Megan Wilkinson, sr., Lumberton; Mya McMillian, sr., Marble Falls;  Braylyn Dollar, sr., Lubbock Monterey; Kristan Rincon, sr., Plainview; Kamry Perez, jr., Canyon Randall; Molly Kaiser, Soph., Saginaw; Tommisha Lampkin, soph., Mansfield Summit.
  Jhakya Dilworth, sr., Temple; Keziah Dilworth, sr., Temple; Tamia Jones, soph., The Colony; Jewel Spear, soph., The Colony; Destiny Jackson, jr. Mansfield Timberview; Lauryn Thompson, sr., Mansfield Timberview; Charli Becker, jr., Kerrville Tivy; Marina Gatica, sr., Corpus Christi Veterans Memorial; Maegan Lee, sr., Wylie East; Morgan Lee, sr., Wylie East.
   — By Galen Wellnicki



Non-GISD Website Maintained by the Lady Eagle Basketball Booster Club


Facebook_logo-7 Twitter_Logo_Hd_Png_03 SMLogos_0000_Layer-4 maxprepslogo